Putin and four presidents after 20 years of preparation to share the Caspian : Politics :: RBC

The meeting of Vladimir Putin with the presidents of Kazakhstan, Iran, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan scheduled for August 12, said the Kremlin. The Central event of the summit will be the signing of the Convention on the status of the Caspian sea

The Caspian sea

(Photo: Olga Golovko / RIA Novosti)

The presidents of Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Russia and Turkmenistan will sign the Convention on the legal status of the Caspian sea during a meeting in Aktau, Kazakhstan on August 12, the press service of the Kremlin. The joint Commission of the five countries responsible for drafting the Convention began work in 1996.

It is expected that the signing will be the Central event of this meeting, said the Kremlin. The presidents of five countries will also sign several intergovernmental five-party agreements.

The legal status of the Caspian sea countries have been trying to determine since the collapse of the Soviet Union. Controversial was the question about delimitation of the water area for each of the five countries, as well as the question of the procedure of coordination of the work on laying pipelines on the seabed.

In June it became known that the draft Convention developed by the Ministry of foreign Affairs with the participation of other countries, was approved by the President of Russia.

Under the draft Convention, the seabed and subsoil of the Caspian sea will be divided into sectors, and the veins in the internal and territorial waters, fishing zone and common water area. Will be identified and the airspace over the Caspian sea. The document also provides for a ban on the presence in the Caspian sea and military forces, unrelated to these five countries.

To other fleets refused to come to the Caspian sea


Each of the five parties will have the right to establish territorial waters, not exceeding a width of 15 nautical miles, which will be measured from the so-called baselines. The method of establishing a baseline for determining zones will be approved in a separate agreement. Each country will receive the right to establish a fishing zone with a width of 10 nautical miles adjacent to the territorial waters.

Countries also agreed to jointly determine the allowable catch of fish of valuable species, and then based on the data to determine the size of the national quotas. Part of the national quotas for the catch, for example, the sturgeon will be transferred to other countries, if you learn it not possible. The procedure and conditions of the fishery “joint aquatic biological resources” will be defined in separate agreements.

When laying pipelines on the seabed, their route will be only to coordinate the country, across the bottom and water where these pipelines run. Other participants of the “Caspian five” will be informed in the notification procedure. The document establishes as a mandatory requirement, the compliance of pipelines with international environmental standards.

The defense Ministry has estimated the project of the new base of the Caspian fleet of 460 million rubles.


From the document it also follows that the division of mineral resources and water will take into account the interests of Iran: Tehran has proposed to divide the Caspian sea into five equal sectors, and not on the middle lines, as suggested by other countries. In the outcome document there is a clause that if any state has the configuration of the coast, which puts him at “a disadvantage”, while working on a method of determining the baselines, this fact will be taken into account.

Countries that have signed the Convention, will have the exclusive right to regulate, authorize and conduct scientific research in their territorial waters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *